This grand Baroque palazzo, one of the Valposchiavo's principal mansions, dates from 1655 with later additions. It has housed the Valposchiavo Museum since 1985. Dedicated to the patrician and bourgeois side of valley life, the exhibits display aspects of everyday life and local art and culture.
It also houses the Tessitura Valposchiavo, where traditional textiles have been produced from natural fibers by hand for over half a century. The ground-floor shop exhibits and sells traditional as well as modern hand-woven textiles.
Opened as a new part of the Valposchiavo Museum in 2007, this ancient farmhouse exhibits the other, rural aspect of life in the valley. Its contents and the very walls tell an ancient tale of perennial struggle with the elements. The core of the structure dates back to 1357 and additions dating from 1450 produced the current form with its entrance hall, the 'curt' that leads both to the dwelling and the stable, and the characteristic pitched roof. Culinary workshops and exhibits explain and teach the valley's traditional cuisine.
The elegant 19th-century patrician townhouse was built by Antonio Semadeni, the first Swiss Consul in Poland and scion of an important dynasty of Poschiavo confectioners that was active all over Europe.
Casa Console has housed an important collection of German and Swiss Romantic paintings since 2002.
The Piazza, built in its present form in the second half of the 19th century, can be compared to the centre of a small Italian city. It is an example of the change, which started around that time, of the Borgo from a farming village to a place with urban character. Some of the most striking buildings of Poschiavo such as the Collegiate church San Vittore Mauro, the old town-hall, the Hôtel Albrici à la Poste and buildings with elegant, neoclassical claddings encircle the main square.
A picturesque, mid-19th-century street of patrician villas bounds the historical town center to the south. The original owners were a group of mostly Protestant emigrant coffeehouse owners and confectioners who made their fortunes all over Europe between the early 19th-century and World War I. The splendid street documents their close contact with the valley over the generations.
The imposing 13th-century stone tower at the northern edge of the Piazza was once the home of the feudal overlords of the valley. From the 16th century on, it served as the town hall and a symbol of the valley's political independence. The main meeting hall, built after 1650, housed the local court of justice and was the infamous site of over 200 witch trials.
When Pietro Albrici opened a hotel in his house at the square in 1848, he gave an important impulse for the tourism development of the valley of Poschiavo. Vaulted corridors similar to halls, different vaulted rooms, but above all the so-called Sybil hall at the first floor with a magnificent inlaying and correspondent ceiling, a mirror with a fantastic carved border (around 1710) as well as a series of twelve oil paintings with Sybil depictions of the 17th century show the manorial origin of this building. It was built in the year 1678 for Bernardo Massella, repeated Podestà (mayor) of Poschiavo and Valtellina.
This pre-industrial handicraft business is unique in its form in Switzerland: A mill, a sawmill and a forge have been installed close to each other along a water supply-channel in the Late Middle Ages. The complex was completely restored in the years 1995-2005 and is nowadays evidence of the technique of the beginning of the 20th century.